Yuan Goang-Ming Taiwan, b. 1965

Born in Taipei, Taiwan in 1965

Now lives and works in Taipei, Taiwan

 

A pioneer of video art in Taiwan, Yuan Goang-Ming has worked with video since 1984, and is now one of the foremost Taiwanese artists active in the international media art circle. He received a master’s degree in media art from the Academy of Design, Karlsruhe Germany (1997), and currently holds a post as professor of the new media art department of the Taipei National University of the Arts.

 

Combining symbolic metaphors with technological media, his work expresses the state of contemporary existence, while exploring the human mind and consciousness. He received the 13th Hsiung-Shih Art Award for the Best New Artist for his video and sculptural work Out of Position (1987) when he was still in art school in 1988. In 1992, his work Fish on a Dish garnered great acclaim in the Taiwanese art circle, and received the First Prize of the Taipei County Arts Award, while The Reason for Insomnia (1998) received the Jury Prize of the 1st Digital Art Festival. His “City Disqualified” series (2002) holds an important place in the history of Taiwanese contemporary media art.

 

Disappearing Landscape (2007) heralded a new approach to the moving image, combining video art and cinema, displaying the fascinating, theatrical everyday in three-channel video installations. The 2011 exhibition Before Memory continues his exploration of the idea of “home” and expands such exploration into ruins and nature, in a diverse array of large-scale installations about time and memory, the body and perception. His 2014 solo exhibition An Uncanny Tomorrow questions the environment we inhabit in a globalized context, pondering the anxieties and apprehensions of modern people. This exhibition received the Exhibition of the Year of the 13th Taishin Arts Award. The 2018 solo exhibition Tomorrowland pivots around the idea that home in the future is no longer solid. The works are centered on the normalization and everydayness of warfare, embodying modern-day existence and human despair. The exhibition traveled to the Hayward Gallery in London in 2018.

 

Yuan has participated in various exhibitions across Asia, Europe, and America. Among these include: Aichi Triennale (2019); Beyond Bliss: Bangkok Art Biennale (2018); Biennale de Lyon: La Vie Moderne, France (2015); Fukuoka Asian Art Triennale, Japan (2014); the 7th Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art, Australia (2012); Singapore Biennale (2008); Liverpool Biennial, U.K. (2004); Auckland Triennial, New Zealand (2004); Taiwan Pavilion at the 50th Venice Biennale, Italy (2003); the 2nd Seoul International Media Art Biennale, Korea (2002); 010101: Art in Technological Times, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, U.S. (2001); ICC Biennial, Japan (1997), and Taipei Biennial, Taiwan (2002,1998, 1996).

 

His work is housed in public and private collections of art museums and institutions at home and abroad. He has also been on the Collections Committee of the Taipei Fine Arts Museum, and a juror of the Taipei Art Award, Taipei County Arts Award, Public Art, Venice Biennale (Taiwan Pavilion), and Asia Society Arts Award in the United States.

袁廣鳴 台灣, 1965

1965 年生於台灣台北

現居、工作於台灣台北

 

袁廣鳴是早期台灣錄像藝術的先鋒,自 1984 年開始從事錄像藝術創作,也是目前台灣活躍於國際媒體藝術界中知名的藝術家之一。1997 年畢業於德國卡斯魯造型藝術學院,獲得媒體藝術碩士學位。目前任教於國立台北藝術大學新媒體藝術學系教授。

 

他的作品以象徵隱喻、結合科技媒材的手法,深刻傳達出人們當下的生存狀態,並且對人的感知及意識有著極具詩意的深入展現。1988 年在校期間即以錄像雕塑作品《離位》獲得第 13 屆雄獅美術新人獎的佳作;1992 年的錄像裝置作品《盤中魚》展出後,隨即獲得台灣藝術圈高度肯定並獲得台北縣美展首獎;1998 年的互動裝置《難眠的理由》則榮獲第一屆「數位藝術紀」的評審特別獎;2002 年「人間失格」系列作品更奠定了在台灣當代媒體藝術界中不可動搖的地位。

 

2007 年《逝去中的風景》三頻道錄像裝置,開始以個人的「居家日常」及「廢墟」開創出一種迷人的劇場式日常。2011 年個展「在記憶之前」,持續對於「家」的探討,並擴及到「廢墟及自然」的領域,更以多元形式呈現以「時間與記憶」、「身體與感知」為主題的大型系列創作。2014 年個展「不舒適的明日」由「家」的議題延伸至當今在全球化底下的在地生存處境的探問,思辨現代人的困頓與憂懼;此展並榮獲第 13 屆台新藝術獎「年度最佳展覽入選獎」。在 2018 年個展「明日樂園」中,直指未來的家已不再是穩固的概念,作品環繞著「戰爭的日常化」與「日常的戰爭」為主軸,呈現當代的生存狀態及不安。此展並於 2018 年受邀於英國海沃德美術館展出。

 

袁廣鳴受邀參與大型國際展覽不勝枚數,其中包括愛知三年展(2019)、第一屆曼谷藝術雙年展(2018)、法國里昂雙年展(2015)、福岡亞洲藝術三年展(2014)、澳洲亞太當代藝術三年展(2012)、新加坡雙年展(2008)、英國利物浦雙年展(2004)、紐西蘭奧克蘭三年展(2004)、第50屆威尼斯雙年展台灣館(2003)、漢城國際媒體藝術雙年展(2002)、美國舊金山現代藝術美術館的「010101:藝術於科技時代」(2001)、日本 ICC1997 媒體藝術雙年展(1997)、台北雙年展(2002、1998、1996)等。

 

作品也受多所國內外美術館典藏,也曾擔任台北市立美術館典藏委員、台北獎、台北縣美獎、公共藝術、威尼斯雙年展台灣館,及美國亞洲協會美術獎評審等。