Joyce Ho Taiwan, b. 1983

Born in Taipei, Taiwan in 1983
Now lives and works in Taipei

 

Joyce Ho received her M.A. in studio arts from the University of Iowa. She is an interdisciplinary artist, focusing specifically on painting, sculpture, and theater. Ho has worked as a script writer and theatre director since 2010.

 

She works across diverse mediums from painting, video, to installation. By integrating the deconstruction of movements and fragmentation of daily rituals with rich and illusory light and shadow, the artist demonstrates the intimate and isolating tensions between people and reality. The artist’s unique and powerful work simultaneously captivates her viewers while keeping them in a state of confrontation, rendering the quotidian action depicted in her work as a momentary ritual.

 

Ho has exhibited internationally, including NO ON: Joyce Ho Solo Exhibition, TKG+, Taipei, Taiwan (2019); 9th Asia Pacific Triennial of Contemporary Art, Queensland Art Gallery and Gallery of Modern Art, Brisbane, Australia (2018); Inhabiting the World, Busan Biennale, Busan Museum of Art, Korea (2014); and Everyday Life — Asian Art Biennale, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung (2013).

何采柔 台灣, 1983

1983 年生於台灣台北
現居住、工作於台灣台北

 

台灣跨領域藝術家,加州大學國際關係學士,愛荷華大學藝術研究所碩士,除了繪畫、雕塑作品,自 2010 年開房間戲劇節亦開始嘗試編導工作。

 

無論是以繪畫、裝置或影像的方式創作,何采柔的作品總能以局部分解的動作、日常習慣的切片與豐富迷離的光影來呈現人與現實之間某種既親密又疏離的緊張關係。而這些獨特而強烈的創作一方面包圍著觀眾,卻又與其保持對峙的狀態,幾乎讓日常的片刻直接成為了一道風景或儀式。

 

重要展歷包括「事故 NO ON:何采柔個展」(TKG+,台北,台灣,2019);第九屆亞太當代藝術三年展(昆士蘭藝術博物館與現代藝術博物館,布里斯本,澳洲,2018);「觀海中:釜山雙年展亞洲特別策劃展」(高麗制鋼水管工廠,釜山,韓國,2014);「返常:亞洲雙年展」(國立台灣美術館,台中,台灣,2013)等。