Born in 1980 in Taipei, Taiwan

Now lives and works in Taipei, Taiwan

 

Charwei Tsai graduated from the Rhode Island School of Design in industrial design and art & architectural history (2002), and the postgraduate research program La Seine at L’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Paris (2010).


Highly personal yet universal concerns spur Tsai’s multi-media practice. Geographical, social, and spiritual motifs inform a body of work, which encourages viewer participation outside the confines of complacent contemplation. Preoccupied with the human/nature relationship, Tsai meditates on the complexities among cultural beliefs, spirituality, and transience. 


Charwei Tsai has participated in international exhibitions and biennials including: The Songs We Carry, Vernacular Institute, Mexico City, Mexico (2021); Lines Tell Everything about the Universe  Kusama Yayoi, Prabhavathi Meppayil, Charwei Tsai, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2021); Welcome Stranger, To This Place, The University Art Museum, Tokyo University of the Arts, Tokyo, Japan (2021); Ritual: The Past in the Present, Cairns Art Gallery, Cairns, Australia (2021); Rituel·le·s, Institut d'art contemporain - Villeurbanne / Rhône-Alpes (IAC), Villeurbanne, France (2020); Jogja Biennale and Power of Intention: Reinventing the (prayer) Wheel, Rubin Museum, New York (2019), Charwei Tsai: Bulaubulau, Centre for Chinese Contemporary Art (CFCCA), Manchester, U.K., 2050, A Brief History of the Future, National Taiwan Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung, Taiwan, In collaboration with Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, and Minimalism: Space, Light, Object, Art Science Museum in collaboration with National Gallery Singapore, Singapore (2018), Hear Her Singing, Commissioned by Hayward Gallery, Southbank Centre, U.K. and Water Moon, Institute of Contemporary Art, Villeurbanne / Rhône-Alpes, France (2017), Biennale of Sydney (2016), Simple Shapes at Mori Art Museum, Tokyo (2015) and Centre Pompidou-Metz, France (2014), Sharjah Biennial (2013), Phantoms of Asia at Asian Art Museum of San Francisco (2012), Yokohama Triennial and Ruhrtriennale (2011), 6th Asia Pacific Triennial (2009), Traces of the Sacred at Centre Pompidou, Paris (2008), Thermocline of Art: New Asian Waves at ZKM Center of Art and Media, Karlsruhe (2007), Singapore Biennale (2006), and J'en Rêve at Cartier Foundation, Paris (2005).

 
Tsai’s works are in public and private collections including those held at Tate Modern, London, Queensland Art Gallery, Brisbane, Mori Art Museum, Tokyo, Asian Art Museum, San Francisco, M+ Collection, Hong Kong, Faurschou Fondation, Copenhagen, Kadist Foundation, San Francisco / France, Contemporary Art Institute, Villeurbanne / Rhône-Alpes, France, and FRAC Lorraine, France.

 

Tsai has also published a curatorial journal titled Lovely Daze twice a year since 2005. The complete sets of Lovely Daze are in the library collections of Tate Modern, London, Museum of Modern Art, New York, Pompidou Center, Paris, and MACBA, Barcelona.

蔡佳葳 台灣, 1980

1980 年出生於台灣台北

現居、創作於台灣台北

 

蔡佳葳於 2002 年獲得羅德島設計學院工業設計及藝術建築史學位,並於 2010 年完成巴黎國立高等美術學院—塞納河計畫。

 

蔡佳葳創作探討地理、社會和精神性,鼓勵觀者跨越自身思考的框架。她同時關注人與自然,並思考文化信仰、精神性與無常之間的複雜關係。

 

曾參與國際展覽及雙年展包括:第15屆光州雙年展(光州,韓國,2023);「氣候論壇:哪種文化適合哪種未來」演出(龐畢度藝術中心,巴黎,法國,2022);泰特之夜放映錄像作品,(泰特現代美術館,倫敦,英國);「我們牽掛的歌」(Vernacular 當代藝術機構,墨西哥城,墨西哥,2021);「線條訴說宇宙的一切 — 草間彌生,Prabhavathi Meppayil,蔡佳葳」(森美術館,東京,日本,2021);「歡迎來到此地,陌生人」(東京藝術大學,大學美術館,東京,日本,2021);「儀式:現在式的過去」(凱恩斯美術館,凱恩斯,澳洲,2021)     ;「儀式」(維勒班當代藝術機構,維勒班,法國,2020);日惹雙年展(日惹,印尼,2019);「意念的力量:再造轉經輪」(魯賓美術館,紐約,美國,2019);「蔡佳葳:Bulaubulau」(華人當代藝術中心,曼徹斯特,英國,2018);「未來簡史2050」,皮耶.伊弗.戴薩伊夫(Pierre-Yves Desaive)策展(國立台灣美術館與比利時皇家美術館合辦,台中,台灣,2018);「極簡主義:空間.燈光.實體」(藝術科學博物館與新加坡國家美術館合辦,新加坡,2018);「聽她歌唱」(海沃藝廊,南岸藝術中心,倫敦,英國,2017);「水月」(當代藝術機構,維勒班,法國,2017);雪梨雙年展(2016);「簡單形體」(森美術館,東京,日本,2015;龐畢度藝術中心-Metz分館,巴黎,法國,2014);沙迦雙年展(沙迦,阿拉伯聯合大公國,2013);「亞洲魅影:當代喚起過去」,片岡真實及艾莉森.哈汀(Allison Harding)策展(舊金山亞洲藝術博物館,舊金山,美國,2012);橫濱三年展(橫濱,日本,2011)及德國魯爾三年展(2011);第六屆亞太藝術三年展(昆士蘭美術館,布里斯本,澳洲,2009);「聖跡」(龐畢度藝術中心,巴黎,法國,2008);「藝術之溫度變化 — 亞洲新浪潮」(ZKM藝術與媒體中心,卡爾斯魯,德國,2007);新加坡雙年展(新加坡,2006);「夢想」(卡地亞當代藝術基金會,巴黎,法國,2005)等。

 

蔡佳葳作品為公共機構及私人所收藏,包括英國倫敦泰德現代藝術館、澳洲布里斯本昆士蘭美術館、日本東京森美術館、美國舊金山亞洲藝術博物館、香港 M+ 視覺文化博物館、丹麥哥本哈根林冠藝術基金會、法國巴黎/美國舊金山卡蒂斯特藝術基金會、法國維勒班當代藝術機構及法國 Frac Lorraine 當代藝術機構等。

 

她自 2005 年獨立出版半年發行一次的藝術家手帖《 Lovely Daze 》。全套收藏於英國倫敦泰德現代藝術館、美國紐約現代藝術博物館、法國巴黎龐畢度藝術中心與西班牙巴塞隆納當代美術館。